The Cordillera of Dreams (February 21 – March 5)

Home » CINEMA, DIGITAL GYM BLOG, EVENTS, EVENTS » The Cordillera of Dreams (February 21 – March 5)

on February 21 – March 5

The Cordillera of Dreams (February 21 – March 5)

February 21, 2020
February 22, 2020
February 23, 2020
February 24, 2020
February 25, 2020
February 26, 2020
February 27, 2020
February 28, 2020
February 29, 2020
March 1, 2020
March 2, 2020
March 3, 2020
March 4, 2020
March 5, 2020

An exploration of identity, history and landscape by acclaimed Chilean director Patricio Guzmán.

 

Winner of the Best Documentary award at the Cannes Film Festival, master filmmaker Patricio Guzmán’s The Cordillera of Dreams completes his trilogy (with Nostalgia for the Light and The Pearl Button) investigating the relationship between historical memory, political trauma, and geography in his native country of Chile. It centers on the imposing landscape of the Andes that run the length of the country’s Eastern border. At once protective and isolating, magisterial and indifferent, the Cordillera serves as an enigmatic focal point around which Guzmán contemplates the enduring legacy of the 1973 military coup d’état.

 

Critic Quotes: 

“Taken as a completed project, Guzmán’s late-career trinity is a stunning achievement in the cinema of the hidden pattern and the startling, unexpected connection.” – Jessica Kiang, Variety

“A mournfully intelligent, poetic documentary that once more seeks to link the vastness, grandeur and indifference of nature with the human horrors that Chileans have lived through.” – Deborah Young, The Hollywood Reporter

“The Cordillera of Dreams is a stirring look at a nation still recovering from the brutalization meted out by General Pinochet’s callous and paranoid actions, but Guzmán goes further to offer his opinion of the present issues facing the country.”  Martyn Conterlo, CineVue

 

 

Runtime:  85 minutes

Year: 2019

Rating: R

Director: Patricio Guzmán

Country: Chile

Languages: Spanish w/ English subtitles

 

Showtimes:

Friday, February 21: 10:30 AM 7:15 9:00

 

Saturday, February 22: 1:20 6:20

Sunday, February 23: 10:15 AM 6:30

Monday, February24: 10:30 AM 3:45 5:45

 

Tuesday, February 25: 1:15 6:25 8:15

 

Wednesday, February 26: 10:15 AM 12:30

Thursday, February 27: 1:30 3:30 5:30

Friday, February 28: 10:30 AM 3:00

Saturday, February 29: 2:30 8:15

Sunday, March 1: 7:00

Monday, March 2: 4:30 8:45

Tuesday, March 3: 10:15 AM 8:45

Wednesday, March 4: 12:30

Thursday, March 5: 12:30

Related Posts

« Previous Next »

Scroll to top