Skip to Content
Poster for Don Hertzfeldt x 2: ME + It’s Such a Beautiful Day
Watch trailer for Don Hertzfeldt x 2: ME + It’s Such a Beautiful Day Watch trailer

Don Hertzfeldt x 2: ME + It’s Such a Beautiful Day

Dates with showtimes for Don Hertzfeldt x 2: ME + It's Such a Beautiful Day
  • Thu, Jun 20
  • Mon, Jun 24
  • Tue, Jun 25
  • Thu, Jun 27

Director: Don Hertzfeldt Run Time: 91 min. Release Year: 2012

Starring: Don Hertzfeldt, Sara Cushman

Don Hertzfeldt Double Feature:
ME (2024, 22 minutes)
It’s Such A Beautiful Day (2012, 62 minutes)

ME Synopsis: Don Hertzfeldt’s newest animated film ME is a 22-minute musical odyssey about trauma, technology, and the retreat of humanity into itself. Indiewire has described it as “soul-shaking” and “a triumph”.

It’s Such a Beautiful Day Synopsis: Returning to theaters for the first time since 2012, It’s Such a Beautiful Day has been hailed by critics and audiences alike as one of the best animated films of all time.

Originally released as three short films over the course of six years, the picture was captured entirely in-camera on a 35mm rostrum animation stand. Built in the 1940s and used by Hertzfeldt on all of his animated films since 1999, it was one of the last surviving cameras of its kind still operating in the world, indispensable in creating the story’s unique images and visual effects. It’s Such a Beautiful Day painstakingly blended traditional hand-drawn animation and experimental optical effects with new digital hybrids, printed out one frame at time and placed under the camera.

The film’s signature “split screen” effects were achieved by photographing the animation through small holes that were positioned just beneath the camera lens. One area of the film frame would be individually photographed, the film was then rewound, another section of the frame would be exposed through a different hole, and the process repeated until all elements of a scene were composited together.

Towards the end of production, the old camera’s motor began to fail and could no longer advance the film properly, riddling the final reels with unintentional light leaks. In 2012, the three completed short films about a man named Bill were seamlessly combined to create a new feature film. Upon its original release, It’s Such a Beautiful Day was named by many critics as one of the best films of the year. The L.A. Film Critics Association named it runner-up for “Best Animated Film”.

Showtimes:
Monday, June 10, 2024: 9:00
Tuesday, June 11, 2024: 12:55
Wednesday, June 12, 2024: 2:00
Thursday, June 13, 2024: 5:00

Friday, June 14, 2024: 12:25
Saturday, June 15, 2024: 9:10
Sunday, June 16, 2024: No Showtimes
Monday, June 17, 2024: 3:25
Tuesday, June 18, 2024: 12:45
Wednesday, June 19, 2024: No Showtimes
Thursday, June 20, 2024: 3:25

Friday, June 21, 2024: No Showtimes
Saturday, June 22, 2024: No Showtimes
Sunday, June 23, 2024: No Showtimes
Monday, June 24, 2024: 12:30
Tuesday, June 25, 2024: 12:00
Wednesday, June 26, 2024: No Showtimes
Thursday, June 27, 2024: 2:15

Ticket Prices: $12 Regular / $10 Students & Seniors / $9 Members
Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecn9YiqqHyw

Trailer

powered by Filmbot